I am doing a good job after all…

As a parent we always find reasons to beat ourselves up about our success, or lack of it when it comes to creating beautifully well rounded kind children.

Having had 3 boys within the space of just under 3 years, as soon as they were toddling and gaining character they also realised they had some sort of superpower, where if they stuck together their opinions as a three could be stronger than mine….. Or at least that’s what I let them think sometimes. 

Now they are getting a little older and they have their own minds I spend much of my weeks reminding them not to fight with each other, not to wind each other up on purpose and be careful and gentle with each other and one another’s feelings. It feels all too often like I am invisible and they can’t actually hear me at all. I felt like I was fighting a losing battle and they were going to be become delinquents (slightly dramatic I know)

Until this week….

It’s been the school holidays and we have been out every day, National Trust is our face (that’s another blog post) so whilst playing football in the middle of a gorgeous field at Attingham Park when a very little boy came and joined them. My first thought was “I hope they’re gentle and include him”

To my amazement they were brilliant, the little boy was only 2 1/2 and my eldest (9yrs) went round with him showing him all the big boys things to play with and keeping him safe. His mom was grilled as she was feeding her new baby and couldn’t  follow him everywhere. All three of my boys were very gentle and affectionate and kind with their new little  friend, so apparently they do listen after all. 

My work is done! For now 😀

Leave a comment